top of page

firehawk spotlight.

Ash 2.jpg

delegate-World Food Prize Foundation’s Global Youth Institute, Borlaug Dialogue, International Symposium, and Laureate Award Ceremony 

ash mowbrAy
Class of 2024

Congratulations to Ash Mowbray – Class of 2024 -for being named as a delegate to the World Food Prize Foundation’s Global Youth Institute, Borlaug Dialogue, International Symposium, and Laureate Award Ceremony.  The top high school students from each Youth Institute are competitively selected as delegates to the Global Youth Institute. The Global Youth Institute is an academic conference where participants learn from experts while engaging with peers from across the country and presenting their research on global food security issues.

Audrey NMF.jpg

National Merit scholarship program Finalist

audrey davis
Class of 2020

Officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation have notified E.A. Young Academy that Senior, Audrey Davis, has advanced to the 2020 National Merit Finalist level! To advance, semifinalists were required to submit an in-depth scholarship application in which they provided details about their academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. Finalists were selected based up distinguished performance among these criteria. 

Nicky profile.jpg


Class of 2023

Congrats to our 2022 @CollegeBoard’s National Hispanic Recognition Award winner, Nicky Gunter! Nicky, E.A. Young Academy’s Class of 2023, earned honors from @CollegeBoard’s National Recognition Programs through his high performance on the PSAT/NMSQT. We’re thrilled Nicky earned this award in recognition of his achievements in their classroom and on College Board assessments. 

Young Writers Club.jpg

young writers competition winners

cairo jones
alex lamas
class of 2026 & 2027

If you had to write a story about a post-apocalyptic world in just 100 words, how would you do it? Cairo Jones and Alex Lamas each described their visions which were subsequently published in the Young Writers© book, Survival Sagas: Mission Catastrophe.

These two prove it's never too early to be a published author!

AP Capstone Diploma Recipients.png

AP Capstone Diploma.™


College Board recently announced, and we are thrilled to share, that four of our Firehawk scholars earned the AP Capstone Diploma.™ during the 2021-22 school year. The AP Capstone Diploma program helps students develop the critical thinking, research, collaboration, and presentation skills that are critical for academic success. Congratulations to Evan Troutman, Antonio Cabrera, Mia Johnson and Emmit Phalen, all Class of ’22 graduates!  Our AP Capstone™ scholars and faculty showed extraordinary commitment while facing historic challenges. This is a meaningful college readiness program that will serve our students well after high school.


National Hispanic Recognition Program


Each year the National Hispanic Recognition Program (NHRP) recognizes academically outstanding Hispanic/Latino high school juniors who take the PSAT/NMSQT® and score in the top 2.5% among Hispanic/Latino test-takers. We proudly announce that Katarina Garcia earned this National Recognition!

Audrey NMS.jpg

National Merit scholarship program Semi-Finalist

audrey davis
Class of 2020

Audrey Davis has been named a 2020 National Merit Semi-Finalist. This group represents less than 1% of the 1.5 million students taking the PSAT in the fall of their junior year. They compete for the final round by completing an application with additional test scores, grades, accomplishments, and community service.


Over 1.5 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools entered the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT® or ACT® scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

Quincy and Jonathan.png

National Merit Scholarship Program commended students

jonathan glietz
quincy harper
class of 2020

Jonathan Gleitz and Quincy Harper have been named as Commended Students in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program! Commended Students represent approximately 2% of the 1.5 million students throughout the nation considered for the 2020 competition based their exceptional performances on the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). 

Commended Students are named on the basis of a nationally applied Selection Index score that may vary from year to year and is typically below the level required for participants to be named Semifinalists in their respective states. 


Virtual Business Challenge Winners

ben aubin
darayus parakh
Caiden trivedi
class of 2021

Firehawks Go International with DECA! The EAYA Chapter of DECA, newly formed by three juniors, Darayus P., Caiden T., and Ben A., are advancing to the International Career Development Conference in Nashville, TN. This trio is one of only two teams in Texas that advanced through their tenacious performance in the Virtual Business Challenge-an outstanding achievement in their first year of participation.

DECA is a long-established organization which prepares emerging leaders and entrepreneurs in high schools and colleges around the country.


The Virtual Business Challenge is a fast-paced, competitive online simulation that challenges students to manage tasks in business-career areas including accounting, fashion, hotel management, personal finance, restaurant management, retail management, and sports marketing.

Lindsey Gorman (002).jpg

davidson young scholar ambassador

Lindsey Gorman
Class of 2020

Lindsey is one of only twelve national ambassadors selected for the Class of 2019 Ambassador Program. The purpose of the Davidson Young Scholars Ambassador Program is to foster learning and civic engagement through community service, volunteerism and leadership in highly motivated and mature Young Scholars. Lindsey's project is "Aphelion" which has been implemented through Young Academy. Aphelion is a non-profit working to improve equity in education using artistic expression to inspire change and deliver opportunities.


ASA App developer and More

ben aubin
class of 2021

Ben is currently a Junior in high school who already has years of programming experience. Now he’s turned app development into his side hustle. See the big projects he’s pioneering, all while still in high school through the American Student Assistance Program.


robert a.welch scholar

jonathan gleitz
class of 2020

Jonathan spent this past summer serving and learning as a Welch Scholar.  His work centered around sono-chemistry. Jonathan worked through Texas Tech to bring their heterodyne sonification system back to working order and synthesized potential catalysts using fourth period transition metals. The Welch Summer Scholar Program (WSSP), sponsored by the Robert A. Welch Foundation provides high school students with unique opportunities to participate in hands-on, college-level research projects using state-of-the-art equipment and modern technology. Through research projects, guest speaker series, tours of chemistry-based research facilities and presentations of personal research findings, students complete the program with a better understanding of chemical principles.

bottom of page